What is so good about Good Friday?

Alas! and Did My Savior Bleed

1.      Alas! and did my Savior bleed,
	and did my Sovereign die!
	Would he devote that sacred head
	for sinners such as I? 

2.	Was it for crimes that I have done,
	he groaned upon the tree?
	Amazing pity! Grace unknown!
	And love beyond degree! 

3.	Well might the sun in darkness hide,
	and shut its glories in,
	when God, the mighty maker, died
	for his own creature's sin. 

4.	Thus might I hide my blushing face
	while his dear cross appears;
	dissolve my heart in thankfulness,
	and melt mine eyes to tears. 

5.	But drops of tears can ne'er repay
	the debt of love I owe.
	Here, Lord, I give myself away;
	'tis all that I can do.

O Love Divine, What Hast Thou Done

1.	O Love divine, what has thou done!
	The immortal God hath died for me!
	The Father's coeternal Son
	bore all my sins upon the tree.
	Th' immortal God for me hath died:
	My Lord, my Love, is crucified! 

2.	Is crucified for me and you,
	to bring us rebels back to God.
	Believe, believe the record true,
	ye all are bought with Jesus' blood.
	Pardon for all flows from his side:
	My Lord, my Love, is crucified! 

3.	Behold him, all ye that pass by,
	the bleeding Prince of life and peace!
	Come, sinners, see your Savior die,
	and say, "Was ever grief like his?"
	Come, feel with me his blood applied:
	My Lord, my Love, is crucified!



Blessings, ~Mrs. R (aka Aunt Mae)
Comments are closed.