We Have Chicken Pox!!

I have been praying for years that Arrow would get the chicken pox naturally.  I ran across his immunization records and his birth-mom had the chicken pox vaccine given to him at 1-year-old.  Because of the potential problems with vaccines and the fact that this one was created with aborted fetal cells I did NOT want to have his immunization updated…  So I prayed… and waited.

This past two and a half months chicken pox has been making the rounds of various families in our church.  We were the recent family to fall ‘victim’ to this.

I am so THANKFUL!

Because of the Christmas holiday we didn’t go anywhere Saturday or Sunday when he might have been ‘the most contagious’.  Monday we did go to the park and took a walk, but we were about the only ones there.  Then the hobby shop & used book store.  But the shop keepers are all of an age where they probably had this as children.  There were a few younger folks in the hobby shop…  Then Tuesday, 12/27  was the post office, which was packed.  Blake took in my pre-paid postage packages (a few eBay sales!!  Woo Hoo!!) for me and was able to just drop them off, and then the hobby shop and used book stores again.

On Tuesday, December 27th I noticed a few red spots on Arrow’s face and one on his neck right where his t-shirt collar hits.  I thought that one was an irritated scratch or something.  They were fairly large (about the size of the end of my pinky), but only 4 – 6 or so of them.  I asked if there were any spots on his chest and he said there were not.  He was not running any fever and seemed to feel fine.  I thought they were pimples and he just needed to wash his face better.  So we ran all our errands in town.  When the Patriarch got home he immediately noticed the spots.  But those were the only ones he had – no fever – not grumpy – not tired.  Just a few spots.

Wednesday evening he came to show me the spots on his chest and back after his shower.  I didn’t count them, but maybe 10 – 20 on each side.   No new ones in the morning.  All of these are quite small to about the size of a small pea.  Odd thing… most of the spots seem to be erupting on his right side.  All his original face spots were on the right side.

Thursday morning, 12/29,  he had MANY more spots!  There were some on the soles of his feet and the roof of his mouth!  Later in the day there were some in the back of his throat and possibly on his tonsils, but they have been enlarged for a l-o-n-g time so it is hard for me to tell.

He said the spots only itch ever once in a while, so he’s not doing any scratching.  I did take his temp and it is only 99.1.  He isn’t off his feed any and seems to feel fine.

On Thursday I started giving him an herbal anti-histamine I keep around for my seasonal allergies.  In my homeopathic books there were 5 or 6 remedies listed and at the store they recommended three given alternately in a day for 6 days, antimonium tartaricum, sulphur, and rhus toxicodendron.  I have also been working on a salve to add to my store and I wanted to compare that with honey.  Poor Arrow!!  I applied honey to the spots on the right side of his body, front and back, and the salve to the spots on the other side of his body.  The salve seemed to work better than the straight honey, for which Arrow was thankful… no more sticky shirts!  The Patriarch joked and asked if I kept a few spots for a control group…?!!  Uh… no.

Friday he did have some more outbreak, but they were all very small.  Still no itching.  And some were healing up and greatly diminished.  I have continued withe the homeopathic and salve over the New Year’s weekend.

Today, Tuesday January 3, 2012, most of the spots are all gone.  The ones on the bottom of his feet are still there, as are a very few on his chest and back.  The original ones on his face from a week ago?  They are by far the largest spots, crusted over but still amazingly large!

So… the immunity from the childhood vaccine definitely wears off in 11 1/2 years.

A lifetime immunity has now been had.   🙂  I am SO thankful for this!

And of course… a poem!

The Land of Counterpane by Robert Louis Stevenson

When I was sick and lay a-bed,
I had two pillows at my head,
And all my toys beside me lay,
To keep me happy all the day.

And sometimes for an hour or so
I watched my leaden soldiers go,
With different uniforms and drills,
Among the bed-clothes, through the hills;

And sometimes sent my ships in fleets
All up and down among the sheets;
Or brought my trees and houses out,
And planted cities all about.

I was the giant great and still
That sits upon the pillow-hill,
And sees before him, dale and plain,
The pleasant land of counterpane.
Blessings,   ~Mrs. R
All art from art.com for which I am an affiliate.  Nothing in this post should be taken for medical advice.  I am NOT a doctor.  See disclaimer at bottom of this blog for more details.
7 responses to “We Have Chicken Pox!!

  1. Charlotte Moore

    He is very BLESSED not to have the itching. MAybe his face will be cleared up soon.

    • Hi Charlotte,
      I WELL remember the itching!! It was terrible!! I had ‘heard’ that those who have been immunized previously usually have very mild cases when the contract the chicken pox. I would NOT classify Arrow’s case as ‘mild’… even without the itching! Not with pox spots in his hair, on the soles of his feet, on the palms of his hands, all over his back and chest, all over his face, in his right ear and “right next to” his left eye. I am so very thankful that his ‘unmentionable parts’ and his eyes were spared as well as no itching!!

      I put salve on his face spots twice or three times today. The one that was starting to look infected now looks better. So I am thinking by the end of the week he should be all cleared up!
      Blessings, ~Mrs. R

  2. Love the poem! I think it’s something to which everyone can relate. It’s comforting to lay and rest when sick and play with toys.

    • This is so true! I know when I don’t feel well I like to lay on the couch and rest. I don’t have any toys to play with though. And thankfully I don’t get sick very often!

      I really, really, really like Robert Louis Stevenson’s poetry!! I had Arrow memorize “The Swing” when he was much younger because he adored swings.
      Blessings, ~Mrs. R

      • In that case, I’m going to get a book of his poems or something. He seems very good!

      • You will be so glad that you did!! The title I have is “A Child’s Garden of Verses”. There may be others, as this book isn’t ALL of his poems, only some of them.
        Blessings, ~Mrs. R

  3. Pingback: Photo A Day Challenge… | honey from flinty rocks