The Day Before Election Day 2010

Tomorrow is voting day.  Here in western Washington there has been plenty of corruption in the political arena.  Our corrupted-by-the-Seattle-liberals gubernatorial race a few years back even made national news.  You know, I really do tend towards a positive outlook on life.  But… I wonder if that same corruption will rear it’s ugly head once again to thwart the way the people have really voted.  I know many are pinning their hopes upon these races which will be decided tomorrow.

But people are not generally good.  Their hearts are evil all of the time.

Jeremiah: 17:9-10 The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure.  Who can understand it?  “I the LORD search the heart and examine the mind, to reward a man according to his conduct,  according to what his deeds deserve.”

I also know that God is sovereign in all things.  Even political outcomes.  And I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I can trust God completely.

Ps. 103:19 “the Lord has established His throne in the heavens; and His sovereignty rules over all.”

I Chron. 29:11,12 – “Thine, O Lord, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the  victory and the majesty, indeed everything that is in the heavens and the earth: Thine is the  dominion, O Lord, and Thou doest exalt Thyself as head over all. Both riches and honor  come from Thee, and Thou dost rule over all, and in Thy hand is power and might; and it  lies in Thy hand to make great, and to strengthen everyone.”

Psalm 40:4
Blessed is the man who makes the LORD his trust, who does not look to the proud, to those who turn aside to false gods.
Psalm 111:7
The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy.

John 14:1
“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.

Then there is the matter of how I live out my faith (orthopraxy) and that this should also express my doctrinal beliefs (orthodoxy).  How I dress, train my children, what books I read, what movies I watch, whom I vote for… these are all things I must bring under the authority of scripture.

1 Corinthians 10:31
So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

 

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

How am I to vote with integrity?  Where do I get my information?  Do I place all my trust in the media?  The notion of  “objective journalism”  is a complete myth.  Media is related to mediate which is to convey between.  But what is their motive for relaying that information in that way?  Have they presented all the information or is some held back?  Has the information been presented in a way to make it seem to say what it never intended to say?  Who are they trying to please?  It is my goal for this simple blog to glorify God.  Don’t get me wrong, I like being liked!  But if I try to please everyone, I wind up pleasing no one, particularly my Lord Jesus Christ.

In my small effort to help you make an informed decision tomorrow, I offer you these videos and quotes.

“The liberties of a people never were, nor ever will be, secure, when the transactions of their rulers may be concealed from them.”
Patrick Henry

“The Constitution is not an instrument for the government to restrain the people, it is an instrument for the people to restrain the government — lest it come to dominate our lives and interests.”
Patrick Henry

“It is when people forget God that tyrants forge their chains.”
Patrick Henry

“The battle, Sir, is not to the strong alone; it is to the vigilant, the active, the brave. Besides, Sir, we have no election. If we were base enough to desire it, it is now too late to retire from the contest. There is no retreat but in submission and slavery! Our chains are forged! Their clanking may be heard on the plains of Boston! The war is inevitable; and let it come! I repeat, Sir, let it come!”
Patrick Henry

“It cannot be emphasized too strongly or too often that this great nation was founded, not by religionists, but by Christians; not on religions, but on the Gospel of Jesus Christ. For this very reason peoples of other faiths have been afforded asylum, prosperity, and freedom of worship here.”
Patrick Henry

“Bad men cannot make good citizens. A vitiated state of morals, a corrupted public conscience are incompatible with freedom.”
Patrick Henry

Let us make informed, wise choices at the polls!  Vote early.

Blessings,

~Mrs. R

One response to “The Day Before Election Day 2010

  1. All beautifully said:)