Broken Arm Blessings – The Initial Aftermath

We continue with our mini series on “Broken Arm Blessings” here with this newest installment.  In case you missed them, you can read part 1 here and part 2 here.

My first morning with a broken arm.  I previously had a goal in life (one of many) that I would get through all of my life with no broken bones.  One goal gone in an instant.  Would you believe that one of my first thoughts upon waking was about rendering fat?  No really, I’m NOT kidding!!  Sure enough I was ‘in the process’ of rendering fat for my soap making.  This time I was using two 18 quart roasters out in the shed but I kept blowing the breakers.  Argh!   I’d been banished from the garage and relegated to the shed to render fat awhile back by The Patriarch.  Now with my broken arm there was no way I could deal with those two roasters FULL of supposed-to-be-rendering fat.  But that was only ONE of my first thoughts… I also had to call my primary care physician to let ‘them’ know about the ambulance & emergency room visit the day before.  That was my very first call.  I told them the ER doctor said I would require surgery and was rudely told that my PCP would determine that.  Hey, I just know what I was told not why!  I was then given an appointment to see my PCP a week later.  Oookaaayyy.

I got myself dressed and right after breakfast I made my second call to a sweet young lady from church (Miss Wholesome) whom I was rendering fat with/for.  We had a soap making class coming up and would need all this fat rendered into tallow!  Dialing the phone posed no problem, and Miss Wholesome just happened to answer at the other end.  I told her that I had broken my arm the day before and that I needed her, if at all possible, to come and deal with the fat, hoping to save it.  The very first words out of her mouth were, “Oh my goodness, let me come and stay with you to help you!!”  Wow.  Now I had had carpal tunnel surgery on both hands about 19 years prior and prior to being saved.  At the time we were attending a liberal Presbyterian church, I was working outside of the home and we had “Peter Rabbit” (then 12) who attended public school.  The twin girls, ‘Floppsy’ & ‘Moppsy’ were 20 & already out of their mother’s home and attending college.  They both were diagnosed with Fredrich’s Ataxia (another post another day…) and wouldn’t be able to help me, nor could they get to our home without a ride.    ‘Cottontail’ (then 10) had been sent to live with my ex in another state… (yet another post another day…).  Not one single person from our church or my work offered to help us in any way, shape or form.  “Peter Rabbit” had not been trained to do much at all in the kitchen, & “The Patriarch” was at work all day.  And that surgery left me unable to use my arm/hand for anything, and I do mean ANYTHING, for a full 2 weeks then limited use until fully healed.  Then the process repeated for the other side once I had regained full use of the first one.  I was off work for 3 months and nary a call or meal… nothing.

What a completely opposite attitude and display of joyful, sacrificial, service when one is trying to actually live out what doctrines are taught in God’s word.  Orthopraxy & orthodoxy.  These two should be evident in all the church’s who claim Christ!  Miss Wholesome’s sweet mother drove her over.  When Miss Wholesome came to the door I saw her gasp.  She said, “Mrs. R you didn’t say anything about your face!”  Oops.  It never occurred to me since the break was the biggest deal to me, severely limiting my activities.  But the face is what everyone would see, and it was scary.

“Arrow” went out to ‘trim back’ the hydrangea bush.  I had asked him when we were waiting at the hospital,  if tomorrow he would trim the bush away from the sidewalk.  At one point he brought me a large, lovely bouquet of the gorgeous periwinkle blossoms, which we placed in a vase on the coffee table in the living room.   What a sweet blessing!! —  It reminded me of the time a few years prior, when I watched “Arrow” out the kitchen garden window, singing & skipping along in the front yard picking “flowers” in order to bring me a “bouquet.  It was the a sweet love gift from my sweet little boy, a lovely bouquet of darling dandelions in a beautiful shade of bright yellow. — Again I digress…

I had “Miss Wholesome” take a photo of me for my pictorial progress.  “The Patriarch” had taken the first one last night and I wanted to pictorially document the wonders of Arnica.  By now my face was sporting no bridge to my nose and bruises starting to appear under my eyes.  I continued to take Arnica and ice my arm.  I also called a friend from church to pick up some more homeopathic remedies for me.  A different friend from church was able to pick them up and they also brought us a meal!  The outpouring of love we were shown was so heartwarming & encouraging.  I am so thankful for our church family.

During the first day or so of my recuperation The Lord made it clear that this ‘season’ was for “Arrow’s” training, and he should be the one in the kitchen.  This was confirmed at church by a godly couple, and I hadn’t said anything to them about what I thought the Lord had been revealing to me.  So from that day we had to turn down meals from our church family who were already lined up and waiting to serve.  Our church family was able to help us with rides to doctor appointments since I was unable to drive.

Blessings List:                                                                                                                           (I should have had one in each post but forgot, so I will start with this post)

* that I live in an area with a great ambulance service

* for modern medical technology & pain medication

* that I broke my left arm and not my right

* that it was AFTER the wedding I was sewing things for

* that I didn’t break my teeth

* that I didn’t break my nose

* that it was NOT a compound fracture, which is so common for forearm breaks… [shudder]

* that our church family was SO willing to help us in any way we needed.  We are humbled by your instant willingness to help a sister in need.

* my God given sense of humor (handy when in pain!)

* homeopathic remedies, especially Arnica!!

* in Miss Wholesome.  You are a blessing in my life and I thank the Lord for you!!

* that my injuries were not worse than they were

* in godly council/confirmation in “Arrow’s” training in righteousness.  Thanks Papa & Mama B!!  We love you.

* that “Arrow” was there with me the entire time.  What a help he was.

These were not the only lessons I was learning…!  Stay tuned!!  Don’t change that dial….

Blessings,

~Mrs. R

This post also linked here: Gratituesday

4 responses to “Broken Arm Blessings – The Initial Aftermath

  1. You write so beautifully [Mrs. R]! Praise the Lord you can see the beauty in ashes:). Im looking forward to keeping trac of your blog!
    Blessings, DanaA

    • Thank you so much for the compliment Dana. Just so you know, I did change my name in your comment as per my husband’s desire that we not be ‘public’ with our persona. That change is reflected in square brackets.
      Blessings,
      ~Mrs. R

  2. Pingback: Broken Arm Blessings – Surgery « honey from flinty rocks

  3. Pingback: Broken Arm Blessings – Arrow Learns Kitchen Knife Skills & Cooking! | honey from flinty rocks